BUI in Oklahoma
It is illegal to drive while intoxicated on roadways and on waterways in Oklahoma. If your blood alcohol level is at or above .08% while you are operating a watercraft, you can be charged with BUI or boating under the influence.
Types of Watercraft
Under Oklahoma’s BUI laws, it is illegal to operate any “vessel” on the water while under the influence. Vessels include anything that can be used as a means of transportation, such as:
- Jet ski
- Fishing boat
The following are NOT considered vessels under BUI law:
Penalties and Implied Consent
A BUI conviction is punished as follows:
- First offense: Maximum $1,000 fine
- Second offense: Fine of $1,000 to $2,500
A BUI charge or conviction will not affect your regular drivers license the way a DUI would. However, as with a DUI, implied consent applies in BUI cases, which means that you can face additional penalties for refusing to submit to a breath or blood test after being stopped on suspicion of boating under the influence.
Please submit our secure contact form below: