College Student DUI
There is never a good time to be arrested for driving under the influence (DUI); unfortunately, college students who are arrested for drunk driving not only face consequences from the courts but from their university as well. If you are an Oklahoma college student who was recently charged with a DUI offense, you should immediately contact the Edge Law Firm to begin mounting a defense. Our attorneys are well versed in the state’s drunk-driving laws and understand the common problems with evidence in these types of cases.
DUI Penalties for College Students
Colleges are reacting to public scrutiny on the way alcohol-related offenses are handled. Because of this, some Oklahoma universities are imposing additional penalties on students convicted of DUI. These consequences range from simply notifying parents about the offense and ordering alcohol treatment to suspending students from the university altogether.
The criminal penalties for a college student charged with drunk driving depend on two things: the driver’s age and his or her blood alcohol content (BAC). Because of Oklahoma’s zero tolerance laws, a person under the age of 21 can be arrested with any amount of alcohol in his or her system. If convicted of an under 21 DUI, a college student could be sentenced to a six-month license revocation, 20 hours of community service or alcohol treatment, and a fine ranging from $100 to $500.
Any college student—no matter the age—can be charged with a standard DUI if his or her BAC is over .08%. The penalties for this offense include between 10 days and one year behind bars, up to $5,000 in fines, and a six-month license revocation.
The Edge Law Firm Can Fight Your DUI Charge
When you’re just starting out in life, the last thing you want is a criminal record that can affect your employment opportunities, so it’s important to work with an experienced defense attorney. At the Edge Law Firm, we’ve helped a number of students in your shoes. Our qualified DUI lawyers recently helped two underage students who were over the legal BAC limit—one of whom was involved in an accident—avoid a conviction and driver’s license suspension.
Don’t let a DUI charge take away your chance of a successful future. Learn how we can help by completing our online form to schedule a free consultation with a member of our legal team.
Please submit our secure contact form below: