Oklahoma DUI Penalties
A drunk driving conviction carries a number of serious penalties, even for a first offense. The following are the most common penalties you could face if you decide not to fight your DUI:
Driver’s License Suspension
In Oklahoma, your license is subject to an automatic suspension by the Department of Public Safety if you are arrested for DUI or refuse to take the breathalyzer test—unless you submit an appeal within 30 days. Working with an attorney throughout the hearing request process may increase your chance of a successful outcome.
DUI Conviction Penalties
The criminal penalties for a drunk driving conviction can include jail time, fines, and a DUI clinical evaluation, among other consequences. The courts determine the sentence based on your previous criminal record; however, even a first offense could be subject to a mandatory minimum 10-day jail sentence.
Learn more about the potential penalties you could face for specific DUI convictions below:
Felony vs. Misdemeanor DUI
Oklahoma has passed stringent laws on drunk-driving offenses that make a second DUI a felony offense. The difference between a felony and a misdemeanor is the severity of the penalties. While a misdemeanor conviction may result in a few days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines, a felony conviction can lead to a one-year incarceration sentence and more expensive court fines.
Learn more about the difference between the two charges:
What’s important to remember right now is that the only difference between the two types of DUI is the penalty associated with the conviction: a felony is no more difficult to fight than a misdemeanor if you have the right defense lawyer on your side.
Please submit our secure contact form below: