DUI Third Offense
Oklahoma legislators and law enforcement officers are committed to cracking down on drunk-driving offenses, and this includes taking a harsh stance on those who have been convicted of multiple DUIs. Under the state’s mandatory sentencing guidelines, habitual DUI offenders in Oklahoma face some of the harshest penalties in the country.
Habitual Offender Charge
According to state law, any person who has been convicted of two or more DUIs within a 10-year period is considered a repeat or habitual offender. Unfortunately, once you are put in this category, it is almost impossible to get out—and you will find it difficult to prevent others from learning about your past.
Consequences of a Third DUI Conviction
Since a third DUI is classified as a felony offense, a conviction carries a number of harsh penalties, including:
- Up to 10 years in prison
- $5,000 fine
- Eight-year license suspension.
You can apply for a limited driving permit that allows you to travel to and from work, school, and other court-approved activities, however, you will be required to get an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle before the court will issue the permit to you. Once the ignition interlock device is in place, you will have to perform a breathalyzer before your vehicle will start.
Along with the penalties listed above, the judge may also order you to undergo treatment for substance abuse and/or place you on probation for a year or longer. As a repeat offender, you can also expect to be randomly tested for alcohol use.
Regardless of how you are sentenced in court, you will face a number of long-term consequences if you have a third DUI conviction on your criminal record. From losing your voting rights to limiting your future employment opportunities, a felony DUI conviction can have a devastating impact on your day-to-day life.
Please submit our secure contact form below: