DUI in Oklahoma for Out of State Drivers
Oklahoma’s DUI laws apply to everyone who operates a motor vehicle on our roadways—even those who hold a drivers license from another state.
When you are arrested for DUI in Oklahoma, the law enforcement officer will confiscate your drivers license. The officer will provide you with a temporary drivers license that is good for only 30 days. However, if you do not request a hearing within 30 days after your arrest, your driving privileges will be automatically suspended once the 30-day temporary license expires.
Regardless of where you’re from, a DUI arrest will trigger both administrative and criminal actions in your case. You only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing in an attempt to save your drivers license.
What’s the Worst That Could Happen?
One sure way to land yourself in serious trouble is to ignore the charges you are facing. Being unresponsive to a DUI charge in Oklahoma (or any other state, for that matter) in the hopes that it will go away is certainly the worst thing you can do. You could end up with a warrant out for your arrest or be facing additional—and more serious—charges.
Do NOT Go It Alone
It almost goes without saying that you need an experienced DUI attorney who knows Oklahoma’s DUI laws. It is essential that you work with an experienced attorney who has a proven track record of success as early as possible after you have been charged.
The right attorney can not only save you the time and expense of travel, but will also provide you with peace of mind that your case is being handled professionally and with your best interest in mind.
Please submit our secure contact form below: