Oklahoma DUI License Suspension
The clock starts ticking the moment you are arrested for DUI in Oklahoma. That’s because the state can take away your driving privileges just for being accused of drunk driving—even before you set foot in court to face your criminal charges.
One Arrest, Two Sets of Charges
Once you have been arrested for DUI, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) will issue a license suspension that is scheduled to go into effect 30 days after the date of your arrest. Because this suspension is enforced by DPS and not the criminal court system, it is known as an administrative penalty.
Any administrative penalties that you receive—including your license suspension—are entirely separate from your criminal punishment. As such, your arrest will trigger two sets of charges: one for your administrative case and another for your criminal case.
Appealing Your Suspension
Although your license suspension is set to begin 30 days after the date of your arrest, you do have the opportunity to avoid losing your driving privileges by requesting an administrative hearing with the DPS—and you have just 30 days to do so. If you do not request the hearing, or the DPS does not receive your request by the deadline, your license suspension will remain in effect and your driving privileges will be revoked for at least six months or up to eight years.
On the other hand, if you request the hearing and are able to successfully appeal your suspension, the suspension will be temporarily lifted, pending the outcome of your criminal DUI trial.
So what is the secret to winning an administrative hearing? The simple truth is that it’s all about having the right defense. Of course, determining the best approach for your case can be difficult if you do not have a legal background, which is why it is best to have a skilled DUI defense attorney by your side during this important proceeding.
Remember, if you are arrested for DUI, your license will be suspended automatically—and if you do not request an administrative hearing within 30 days, you will lose your one and only chance to keep your license.